WORKING GIRL CHALLENGE [EPISODE 1]: MONOCHROMATIC TRANSGRESSION

23 Oct

Good morning beautiful souls 🙂

“Women think of all colors except the absence of color. I have said that black has it all. White too. The beauty is absolute. It’s the perfect harmony.” -Coco Chanel

Front Cover

Sigh. Coco just hit the nail on the head with that one. Need I say more? Like I mentioned before, I’ve always struggled to look trendy chic on a typical work day. Growing up in the Kenyan culture, most young people start their careers in the corporate world. Some do stay but in the recent past, many have ventured out to pursue their dreams in other areas. Whatever the case, there is a time and a place for everything. A time to dress formally, casually and another to look insanely hot, and by that I mean sexy 🙂 What we forget is to dress appropriately for our age! Yes you, don’t look at me like that going to work dressed up like a 40 year old lady and you just got done with school 😀 Trust me, I have been guilty of this preposterous behavior of getting comfortable in something to the likeness of a skirt suit and it ain’t pretty. I do believe that while in your 20s, you have the liberty to experiment and explore your wardrobe choices to a great extent! This too shall pass so we gotta make sure that we make the most of it. So I made a resolution to get rid of all the clothes that age me this weekend and only work with that which makes me look young, vibrant and fabulous.

??????????

To get started, I put together this black and white staple look. Flared cotton trousers have never tickled my fancy so I opted for these black capris which would give room for my black ankle strap shoes. These straps should never be covered by the garment as it distorts the desired effect. Since my capris are well fitted, I paired it up with a somewhat loose chiffon shirt, which is how they are meant to be anyway. It doesn’t have to be a size bigger but the thing is you want to get one that is long enough to cover all the right areas. 😉 Remember, untucked shirts give you a youthful flare. Never tuck in a shirt unless it is fairly short or the pants are loose fitted, to avoid those fine lines. To give it the professional edge, I added a white blazer…refreshing right? Red lip and bag to break the monotone. 🙂

??????????

??????????

??????????

When it comes to accessorizing, less is more. So I threw on a white leafy neck piece and studs to match. 🙂

??????????

??????????

Smile 🙂 It confuses people.

Now that’s more like it! 🙂 How did I do?

 

??????????

??????????

Back cover

From Nyasani with love :-*

3 Responses to “WORKING GIRL CHALLENGE [EPISODE 1]: MONOCHROMATIC TRANSGRESSION”

  1. Shee November 3, 2014 at 1:34 pm #

    Lets talk about these shoes ay?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. NUDE CAMOUFLAGE | The Sassy Bantu - November 12, 2014

    […] your face is a challenge! 😛 Mine is too 😀 Speaking of which, you can see where it all began here. I feel like I’m slowly gaining ground here […]

Tell me what ya think?